For many of us, the concept and topic of food intolerances, food allergies, and diets does not sound unfamiliar, and it is no surprise when a friend of ours or a family member announces before our next catch-up that he or she is no longer eating meat, milk, eggs, gluten or any other ingredient for one reason or another. In such situations it’s obvious that the question of where to eat comes up, and which restaurant suits many different diets as well as providing a wide selection of choices.

There are many motivations that can contribute to the exclusion of certain foods or groups of foods from our diet. There are those who do so for health reasons, and there are those who do so for other reasons. It is important to acknowledge that for those who do not eat certain ingredients due to allergies or intolerances, the principle of zero tolerance applies – the given dish cannot contain even trace amounts of the guilty ingredient, as it irritates and burdens the body, therefore may cause strong immune responses.

However, if someone does not consume a dairy product for certain dietary reasons or for other reasons, the “rule” is not so strict, so we can safely eat dishes where the exemption is not 100% guaranteed (“it may contain traces…”).

In all cases, the surest source of information is the label, where allergens are highlighted in accordance with international regulations, thus facilitating clear communication of information. For foods that are not pre-packaged, we can find information from the allergen table displayed in the restaurant or on the website.

In PADTHAI WOKBAR, the most common allergens (including gluten, lactose, milk, eggs, soy, and nuts, as well as ingredients of animal origin and added sugar) are summarised in a detailed list including basics, toppings, sauces, extra toppings, soups and desserts.

While it’s worth mentioning that free from-meals, along with “non-free” meals, are made in the same kitchen (so cross-contamination cannot be ruled out 100%), we also offer several options to eliminate those allergens, as well as for our vegan guests:

  • Rice noodles, vermicelli, white & brown rice, and vegetable bases are also available as gluten-free bases.
  • As a topping instead of meat, it is possible to order tofu or one of the three types of mushrooms as a source of protein.
  • With the exception of the Japanese teriyaki sauce, all sauces can be ordered gluten-free (in this case, you must indicate that you are requesting no base sauce), and
  • Malay coconut curry already does not contain base sauce, making it also a gluten-free option.
  • Among the desserts, the vegan raspberry coconut cream can also be ordered by those who are intolerant to dairy products.
  • Among the drinks, those who maintain a sugar-free diet can guiltlessly try FIT PADTEA or PADTEA HAPPY, which also do not contain added sugar (only naturally occurring fructose)!

In conclusion: You don’t have to be scared at all if you have to live with a new food intolerance that just popped up and fears about the accompanying diet, as luckily you can already choose from a wide range of options. You won’t have to give up on delicious flavors or your favorite dishes! However, it is always worthwhile to ask for further information from the staff, either online or on site, and to ask for a recommendation on what foods and ingredients can fit well into your diet!

ez is érdekelhet